November 11th, 2016

Storm surge barrage bestowed with German Civil Engineering award

Andreas Hohberg, hpl, Michael Heiland, managing director of Lahmeyer Hydroprojekt, Dr. Barbara Hendricks, Minister of construction, environment and reactor safety, Wilfried Paulu, former managing director of hpl, Christian Lettner, managing director of hpl, Frank Heyder, managing director hpl, Hans-Ullrich Kammeyer, Chamber of Civil Engineers. Picture: (c) BMUB / Thomas Imo

On June 26 2016 minister of construction, Barbara Hendricks, and president of the association for engineering, Hans-Ullrich Kammeyer, awarded the prize for German Civil Engineering for the first time.

The award includes prize money of 30.000 euros. The engineers of the Greifswald storm surge barrage won because of their extraordinarily innovative solution for flood control.

Lahmeyer Hydroproject in Weimar and Lahmeyer International planned this project with Hydro Paulu & Lettner (hpl) Engineering from Berlin and were responsible for the construction management and supervision. The concept idea comes from hpl, client was the State Ministry of Environment of Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania. The barrage (which is supposed to protect the hanseatic city of Greifswald against floods from the Baltic Sea) was brought into service after five years of construction. In October it had its first real world practical test.

Minister of environment Dr. Till Backhaus said: “The barrage in Greifswald is a superlative, complex building. 12.000 tons cement and almost 4000 tons steel were used. It is the most comprehensive and technical demanding coast protection project ever undertaken in Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania. With the 2016 German Civil Engineering Prize this technical masterpiece is being recognized and honored. The award dignifies the high art of engineering.”

The award for German Civil Engineering was offered for the first time this year by the Ministry of Construction and the German Chamber of Civil Engineers. Engineering achievements and projects from January 1, 2011 through February 29, 2016 were admitted. 32 Engineering offices presented 53 contributions for evaluation. The prize is awarded every two years.